Communication and Media

Two Electronic Media Students Win Top Awards at the Northern Iowan

Posted on Tuesday, April 17th, 2012

Two electronic media majors won top awards at the Northern Iowan student newspaper yesterday. 

First-year student Lihn Ta, a Northern Iowan writer from West Des Moines, Iowa, won the Ruth Culbertson Memorial Award (the "Cubby" Award), established in 1973 to recognize "outstanding Northern Iowan reporters or editors who has demonstrated exceptional service and devotion to the paper" and "promise and potential for becoming a professional journalist."

Junior Brandon Poll, the Northern Iowan's managing editor from Maquoketa, Iowa, won the Jeanene Robertson Business Award, which recognizes "outstanding contributions to the paper from staff members in advertising, sales, production, and business management at the Northern Iowan."  Poll also won the award in 2011.